This week I decided to follow and interact with the campaign, “Save the Tigers”. With a vibrant website, I was immediately drawn in. The site used warm colors, great images and had a very inviting look. Having a website design background, I also thought the website was very clean. The pictures and text were very balanced.

The “learn” section of the website was very informational; it sold me the idea that the tiger species are being threatened. I wanted to learn more. The website had a superb one dimension to it. Yet, as I moved forward through the site, my smile of satisfaction began turning into a frown of disbelief. The campaign strategists did not choose the right tools; the campaign lacked concrete content. I was unable to find a clear message.

When I clicked on links to find out ways I can help the tiger species, I was greeted with short blurbs of outdated text. Last time there was a relevant news article was March 5th. Additionally, the site began getting text heavy. I was beginning to lose interest. As a campaign strategists and developer, you cannot afford for this to happen. Additionally, there were not any ways to get involved and take action. I could not find a place where I can sign up to receive updates.

Not to mention I got lost on their webpage. I found the section where they mentioned their Facebook and Twitter, but I moved on to look at other pages before I dissect their Social Networking promo page. Now, two days later I cannot find that Social Networking promo page. I had to google “Save the Tiger Fund Social Media” to locate it. This campaign lacks 3 important elements. These are interactivity, relevancy and being navigable.

OK, let’s go back to their social media page, now that I have bookmarked it.  On this page, there was one hyperlink and that was to their Facebook Causes page. The page had 19,828 members, which is impressive number especially since the Causes fad on Facebook is becoming unpopular. But, nothing is going on this page. People are frequently complaining on how tigers need our help, but they aren’t doing anything. Therefore,I posed the question, “How can I help the tigers?” on the wall Tuesday morning. On Thursday afternoon, the only response I received was via private message:

Me along with a few like-minded people are planning to start working for the betterment of tigers, for which we need more people to help us. Due to the lack of resources and man power right now, we plan on working in the Pench National Park in Madhya Pradesh in India.

Can I say “huh?!” I was looking for a way to donate money or help locally not travel to India.

A fan-created “Save the Tiger Fund” facebook group page was more popular. I posted on its wall Tuesday evening, and the page was so busy I had to get to page 3 before I saw my comment. This page had videos and photos; it was nicely done. Save the Tiger fund can take some tips from this page.

Their Twitter followed the same path as their site. Instead of joining forces with their website, the account seemed separate. It was a jumble of text, which had no consistent date. One day (January 14th) they tweeted seven times, which is only 1/3rd of the all the tweets.

They also had a video and photo gallery, but I couldn’t find out where they were located. They were not on YouTube or Flickr.

Overall, the Save the Tiger fund campaign needs work. It clear that their goal is create awareness of the tiger species is being threatened. Their intention is good. But, the execution and their upkeep are hurting their image.

It is clear they do not have an audience in mind. It also appears they just joined the social networking sites because it was the thing to do. The web is not a tool you should neglect. Being part of the millennial generation, I wanted to see interaction and why it matters to me. My parents and grandparents (baby boomers and matures) would want to see up to date articles and ways they can donate.

I rest my case. Jumping on the social media bandwagon doesn’t cut it. A site needs to be engaging and up to date.

