Since I’ve been joining and talking about campaign advocacy Facebook groups to my friends, I’ve been receiving more invitations to join groups my friends support or have taken a part in. Finding a weekly campaign has been easier. This week I am going to look at a campaign my friend, Kelly, initiated in West Palm Beach, Florida called Dress for Success. However, I will be looking at the campaign at a national level.

Dress for Success’s mission is to “promote the economic independence of disadvantaged women by providing professional attire, a network of support and the career development tools to help women thrive in work and in life.”

Their website was very informational and their list of events were up to date. Additionally, they had numerous ways to get involved such as donating money or clothing, signing up for their mailing list. But, I began losing interest pretty fast.

If I were the Webmaster for this company, I would suggest using more bold colors and images. The images look like stock art I would get from JupiterImages. I do like their idea of having testimonies on the front page, but it is looking cluttered and forced when placed on top of the images. Having a Graphic Design background, this is one rule I was told when designing promotional material. “Do not use more than 5 words on an image, or it will look crowded.”

The red, grey and black are professional colors indeed, but with a campaign, you need vibrant colors. The current colors bore me, and I don’t want to bother reading anymore. Additionally, the headline “Dress for Success” are small and in top left hand corner. I would suggest making them bigger and pick a decorative typeface. The current typeface is most likely an Arial or Arial Bold, or Italic. Additionally, they need to cut back on the body copy and just highlight about the company not give a thesis-long answer. I would suggest using bullet points and increasing the typeface size, giving a large headline, so it doesn’t look like a news article.

The links to their Twitter and Facebook were visible only when you scrolled down. In this day and age, you shouldn’t have to scroll down to find the social media. Their Twitter account is clean and probably their best feature, so why aren’t they showing it off more. It is an excellent combination of ReTweeting, sharing URLs and information. Additionally, it engages audience by asking questions. For example, a Tweet this week asks, “Want raise money for us without spending a dime? It’s easy: http://ow.ly/1w6NM.” This is very eye-catching and good use of the 2D Dimension strategy. I would only suggest spicing up their background instead of the red and grey backdrop. Their Facebook account is a replication of their site. When I clicked the arrow to see more tabs on Dress to Success, there were the photos and videos I have been yearning to see! Why are these applications more visible? However, I do have to compliment the social media manager; the Twitter and Facebook are up to date.

Therefore, the last recommendation I would suggest to DressForSuccess is get a YouTube channel. The campaign takes great pride in being experts in resume, interview and first day at job help. This pride can be turned into helpful videos, which would bring forth a larger audience. I rather watch a video about job interviews than reading a long list of Dos and Don’ts.

OK I lied; I have one more recommendation. Why aren’t they using a Flickr account? I would love to see the expressions on a woman’s face when receiving her first business suit or her first job; it would compel to donate. This would help cut back some of the text; a picture is worth 1,000 words.

Their campaign has a lot of potential for outreach and reach a large audience, but I don’t see it happening with their current design and game plan. They are similar to the television show, “What Not to Wear”; they have great ideas, but they are poorly executed and displayed.

