What I love about public communication is the ability to speak for people who don’t have the tools and ability. When I was talking to my friend about this passion, she told me I should check out some of World Vision’s (where she is currently interning at) campaigns. Therefore, the last campaign I interacted with and observed was World Vision’s Stop Malaria campaign.

The opening page was very clean. As a webpage designer, I like how they chose an appropriate color scheme. The red on the homepage calls attention to the viewers as this is a hazard and needs attention. The grey/black create a gloomy tone about the issue, which is equally as effective. Like black, gray is used as a color of mourning as well as a color of formality and uncertainty like a dark cloud.

Additionally, it was easy to navigate. When I selected the different tabs on the homepage, I was happy to see this campaign understood how to talk to their audience. They didn’t use a lot of text in the individual sections. Instead, they balanced it out with videos and pictures. When there wasn’t an opportunity for videos or pictures, they appropriately balanced it with medium sized/bold headlines and bullet points.

A feature of their site, which I thought was very successful, was their blog. Their blog was cleverly placed inside their webpage. This was a smart, so the viewer does not get distracted by other blogs on blogspot.com, wordspress, tumblr, etc. Like the other pages, the blog had a good balance of images, videos and text. It was very clean.

I liked how the website also asked the question, “why” throughout the site. This was a very smart engaging technique. I also liked how their resources page had links to the PDF instead of plastering them on the webpage. This strategy helps the page to load faster.

The 2D aspect of their website was another positive element of their website. The page had numerous ways for people to get involved such has how to host a malaria awareness event, giving bed nets, and opportunities for college students and youth. I also like how they had a form you can send your senators and congressmen.

However, I think one aspect that would have been beneficial would be a place to put your email address in and receive updates about ending malaria. They have a section called “join”, but I did not receive any emails or a welcome after I “signed up.”  I signed up on Monday night and have not received anything and it is now Sunday evening.

Their Facebook page had a grand number of 1,528 “Fans” include 5 of my friends as of Sunday night. They utilized their Facebook page to release breaking news and keep it up to date, which is very effective. However, I feel they can be more engaging like their website. What feature I love about successful Facebook Fan pages is that they ask questions, or ask people to tell stories. I think this would be a successful add on. Additionally, I feel that there Info page can have some more info ;-).

Lastly, I feel a Twitter page would be great to bring in some outsiders like the press. This would help the press instantly see breaking news. In addition, I think they should utilize the Twitter application called “Twibbon.” I’ve seen this on many pages throughout these weeks of following different campaigns, and I think this is an excellent opportunity.

The videos they presented are very effective. Their YouTube videos are on the World Vision YouTube channel, and I feel they deserve their own channel. I feel this strategy would bring in some public outsiders as well to the World Vision’s Stop Malaria webpage.

There was no MySpace or Flickr, which I think can be very beneficial. Like a Twitter, having a Flickr account would encourage the press to get involved because it would give the press great stock art photography. MySpace would reach the younger generation and the mid-western audience.

Overall, this campaign had an excellent design, strategy and message. I only wished they utilized Twitter, MySpace, Flickr, and YouTube. I feel if they will be able to do so they will attract more visitors to their website.

Don’t sell yourself short, WorldVision, you’re doing great!

